Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

English Brogue Boot

Loake Shoemakers have been producing fine, handmade men's footwear in Kettering, Northamptonshire, England since 1880. Still owned and operated by the Loake family, they hold a Royal Warrant of Appointment from Her Majesty the Queen. This boot is hand-lasted and bench sewn by master shoemakers. Full leather upper. Fully leather lined. Six pair of metal eyelets. Flexible rubber outsole with textured sole for traction. Comes with a cleaning cloth and a spare set of laces. In British Tan. Leather. UK.Whole and half sizes: 9, 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
44 of 48(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for English Brogue Boot
Review 1 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I live in the UK and bought mine in the US,
August 17, 2014
By: Vince6816
from UK
"These boots are great. I was shopping for a classic Brogue boot but didn't want to pay UK prices, so I ordered them online and shipped them to my dads house and he forwarded them on too me. I can say these are quality shoes and they are made in the UK!"
Review 2 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Shoes I own,
May 13, 2014
By: Chee
from Cambridge, MA
"Classic wing tip style but in a boot. True fit despite listing as a 10 but showing 9 on the box/shoe. Made in England and such a quality made shoe."
Review 3 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Shoe,
April 7, 2014
By: Westwardbound
from Atlanta, GA
"Got these boots a couple weeks ago and I'm very happy with the purchase. They are very handsome and the fit is as described in the other comments. It does take about a week for your ankles to get broken in but its worth it. I've gotten a lot of compliments."
Review 4 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good English Boots...,
April 5, 2014
By: Tommer
from New Jersey
"These are good looking, well made brogues that will last a long time. The burnished color looks amazing and break-in was minimal. My only concern is with Orvis, for converting the sizes to US, so when I thought I was getting a UK11 I received a UK10 and they are a bit tight. I happen to wear 11 in both US and UK and wish Orvis would have made a note of the change somewhere in the description.
So Orvis gets 1 star for this transaction, and the boots get 4. I would have given them 5 but I have other brands of UK boots and these Loake's are just a shade behind them."
Review 5 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boot,
April 4, 2014
By: CTDOC
from Novelty, Oh
"Very well made, supportive & stylish. Rins a bit big, but I wear inserts & thick socks so fits well. Only down side is very pricey; would not buy unless on sale."
Review 6 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boots,
March 11, 2014
By: TerenceP
from Chicago
"Could not be more pleased with this purchase. Stylish and unbelievably comfortable. Would highly recommend."
Review 7 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wingtip Brogue,
March 3, 2014
By: rivercaptain
from Evergreen, CO
"This boot is a distinctive style, and it is nice to wear a quality shoe. Requires a short break-in period, but they are a quality fit and function. Nice to wear such a fine boot..."
Review 8 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality boot,
March 1, 2014
By: Patrickl
from Valencia, CA
"I normally wear a size 11 dress shoe and I first ordered a 10 1/2 in these based on the reviews, but they were too snug. Exchanged for an 11 and they are perfect. I wear an 11 1/2 or 12 sneaker, so a half size down from your sneaker size is probably correct."
Review 9 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Stiff, but well constructed,
March 1, 2014
By: Bingolaw
from Pacific Northwest
"Well constructed boot. A bit stiff and hard to break in, so the jury is still out. I agree the order should be 1/2 size down from normal. I normally wear 101/2 and the 10 is the correct size."
Review 10 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highest Quality I've Seen,
February 24, 2014
By: EricF
from Bozeman MT
"These shoes represent craftsmanship at its best. I'm glad I read the other reviews before I made my purchase. I ordered a half size less than I usually wear and the fit was perfect. I wonder if black is available?"
Review 11 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding!,
February 20, 2014
By: JimCH53E
from NJ
"These brogues are great, top quality, very comfortable and versatile - dress 'em up or down. Just to provide some clarification on the sizing - I couldn't understand from the other reviews why some people found their normal size to be too large while others had their normal size fit perfectly. Well it turns out that these are built on a wide last, so if you normally wear wide shoes they will fit as advertised, but if you usually wear a medium width shoe, these will feel large. In this case they will fit if you order a smaller size. For me a 1/2 size smaller than I normally wear fits great! If you have a narrow foot you are probably out of luck on this particular shoe. Hope this helps."
Review 12 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased,
February 17, 2014
By: Coyote78
from South Dakota
"Quality materials and construction. Comfortable and classic. Purchased on sale, so an eleven better bargain. I have a number of shoes and boots, but these have quickly become my favorites."
Review 13 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shoes ever,
February 12, 2014
By: jenkyman
from Ellicott City md
"Outstanding quality, fit and finish. Go down 1/2 your normal size and you will get a prefect fit."
Review 14 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent, substantial dress boot.,
February 12, 2014
By: leatherphiliactwo
from Gaithersburg, Maryland
"This is an excellent, substantial dress boot. Very well made, nice leather. As others have noted, it runs a little large, so size 11 fits my normal 11.5; and the last is also slightly wide like a country boot, which again suits me. Strongly recommended."
Review 15 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Brit shoes,
February 11, 2014
By: Mummer7
from Sent to West Texas
"This is a beautiful pair of boots that made my brother's fiancee jealous. Wow, Orvis shipping & Tx tax are steep!"
Review 16 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size matters,
February 11, 2014
By: Bayhawk
from Houston, Tx
"Excellent customer service, but product did no match US sizing."
Review 17 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Handsome but no padding,
February 11, 2014
By: Hilltopcabin
from Richmond, VA
"Beatutiful boots however, there is no padding in the footbed. I added inserts but I have a high instep and with the insert the boot cut across my instep. One would think a paded footbed could be designed into the boot after all this time. If one doesn't have my instep problem or require soft foot bed then they would be great."
Review 18 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tradition lives,
February 8, 2014
By: WScat
from Upstate NY
"This is superb footwear in the best craftsmanship of English boot making. The price is more than reasonable. I do recommend breaking them in slowly with the expectation that they will outlive you and yet don't have to be coddled in the meantime."
Review 19 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boots but too large,
February 3, 2014
By: Wedge725
"I wanted to purchase these boots for over a year. When I didn't receive them for Christmas I made the purchase myself. Unfortunately they were too large. I had to return them and the next size down is sold out. I always wear a size 13 but these ran large over the top of the front of the boot. Thus a one star deduction . Length was fine. They are really good looking."
Review 20 for English Brogue Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ENGLISH BROGUE,
February 2, 2014
By: WHC1
from LIVERPOOL, NY
"I HAVE SEVERAL PAIR OF BOOTS MADE IN AMERICA BY THE BEST SHOEMAKERS IN THIS COUNTRY. THESE BROGUES EASILY SURPASS THE FIT AND FINISH OF ALL OF THEM. THE APPEARANCE ALONE SPEAKS OF QUALITY IN CONSTRUCTION AND LONG WEAR. TREATED PROPERLY THEY SHOULD LAST FOR YEARS."