Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues

Elegant enough for dress wear, rugged enough for the field, these shoes feature a quality leather upper stitched to a Dainite rubber sole with raised traction nubs. In the final step of more than 200 individual steps, rich wax is painstakingly buffed into each brogue. Leather lined with a full leather orthotic. In brown. 7" tall. Imported.Men's whole and half sizes: 9½.
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Review 1 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 31, 2011
By: gudoc
from Northern plains
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Regarding size, I wear an 11 1/2 B. (American) I ordered this in a 10 and it fit just fine. I ordered this boot because of what I thought was a more tapered toe. Imagine my surprise when what arrived was an exact duplicate of a round toe boot I bought from Church's in London two summers ago. Nothing wrong with that, but NOT as pictured. As always, returns with Orvis are not a problem. Now about that boot with the more pointed toe that I really lust after......"
Review 2 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brogue boots,
January 24, 2011
By: PDRM
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought these online after reading other reviews, seeing feedback on sizing and getting assurances from Orvis about refunds if fit was a problem. I am in Australia so we share UK sizing; to be sure tried US sizing last trip to CA and worked out I was a US 11 - I am UK 10 at home. Ordered the 10 and they fit perfectly! For reference or maybe just confusingly this is EU size 43.
Anyhow, the boots. They fit, as I said. They are solid but soft and and comfortable right out of the box, which is unusual in my experience with some other heavy English brogue shoes I have. The rubber sole makes them comfy to wear all day. They are a bit of a stretch as a high end dress show (with a suit) but you can get away with it. Perfect for moleskins, chinos, jeans and other more casual trousers. They look just as I expected them to - classy solid English shoes, while the boot style is a bit unusual. OK/good value for money when you compare them to other English brogue boots from UK equivalents.
Would buy them again. Nice boots."
Review 3 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A beautiful pair of shoes,
January 11, 2011
By: Tousertrout
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been contemplating purchasing these shoes for years, I finally took the plunge. I wear a size 14 shoe, and yes the rumors are true, so after reading the reviews that they run large I took my chances on ordering a size 13. As usual for my Orvis orders they arrived in a timely manner. I tried them on and they exceeded my expectations, they are comfortable with classic styling and quality, I most highly recommend. These shoes are one of the many reasons why I shop at and always look to Orvis first when I need clothing or sporting goods."
Review 4 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They don't measure the shoes,
December 31, 2010
By: DBDO
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was very eager to buy these shoes based on the description, features, etc. However, after reading all the reviews I was concerned they wouldn't fit (all the reviews said they were much to big.) So I contacted someone from Orvis Customer Service. He insisted the sizes would be accurate. He checked with another department. However, he never actually looked at the shoes or tried one on. He said the reviews were not edited and couldn't help that everyone thought they were way to big.
So, I ordered the correct size and they were way to big. Not even close. I had to return them (which was easy) and get the correct size.
The shoes are great, their exchange policy is excellent but apparently they don't bother to follow up on the reviews or they would have seen everyone said the same thing and were right. It should be very easy to put the correct sizes on the website so we all wouldn't have to exchange them.
"
Review 5 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
December 30, 2010
By: Diapason
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These boots are really fine - very handsome and versatile, well made and almost immediately comfortable.
As other reviewers have observed, they come way large for the size number (unless it is English sizing) so I had to return for a smaller pair which Orvis handled just fine.
I've had many complements on the style, shine and color of these boots and am very satisfied. They are pricey but well worth the investment."
Review 6 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really like these,
December 16, 2010
By: ERdoc
from Boston
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"OK, so I admit that I didn't read the reviews, and I was stunned to find out how big these shoes were. I returned them (no problem) and got a replacement pair that would be too large if it were not for the Very Thick Socks that i regularly wear.
Now, I work in an ER, and i have crummy ankles b/c of old sports injuries. With these things, I can breeze through a shift and not have sore feet at the end of the day (or night). They are immensely comfortable, they are well made, and I get lots of compliments on them. In fact, I was concerned that a product like this could easily disappear from the catalogue---so I bought a second pair, just in case something happens to my first pair.
Love these shoes."
Review 7 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pre-sale advice results in dissatisfaction,
December 15, 2010
By: Winternose
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"My purchase of these English Sportsman Brogues was my WORSE experience with Orvis over the last couple of decades. I thoroughly read the buyers reviews for the boots (Item #43CG-0295). I was fairly certain that I should order at least one-half size smaller but decided to ask for assistance via Orvis Chat Session. Here’s their verbatim advice: “These are true to size. If they seem a bit big you can wear a thicker sock with them.” I am a true 9.5 US, but the 9.5 English Brogues seems more appropriate for Sasquatch! Wear a thicker sock? It would be soleless [sic] not to wear my favorite cashmere/wool argyles.
The Brogues I received did not appear to be brand new. The right boot had two pieces of medical adhesive tape attached to the tongue and left upper ankle inside. Also, both boots welts were unfinished leaving nasty rough white marks on the inside. My advice to prospective purchasers is simple: Please weigh ALL the reviews (and Orvis replies) since constructive word-of-mouth is worth more than the ‘company line’ in an on-line chat. I truly regret not listening to other consumers who warned readers about the size discrepancies."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 3, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the item did not meet expectations and offered a full refund or an exchange. We appreciate this feedback and are reviewing the concerns raised by our customer—and have forwarded these concerns on to our product developers for consideration in future product refinements. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 8 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
UK Size and Great Customer Service,
November 24, 2010
By: Ardy
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First, the shoes are great! Second, they are sized in UK Sizing. Against my better judgement I read the Orvis note saying they were US sizes, they are not. I wear a solid 11 US, and a 10.5(UK) fit my father who wears a 12US. I have reordered in 9.5. So, order accordingly. On a brighter note, Orvis accomodated my return without hesitation. Great products combined with great customer service is a recipe for success. Thanks Orvis."
Review 9 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good boot, poor sizing,
October 23, 2010
By: Stonecutter
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I ordinarily wear a size 8 boot/shoe. I read the earlier reviews about sizing so I ordered a 7-1/2. My foot "swam" in the boot. I then ordered a 7, the smallest offered, which fits although it is still on the large size and works better with a very heavy sock. Clearly the English maker is using a different (UK) size scale, and one would think after all the notice (see earlier reviews) that Orvis would have rectified this problem. The boot itself is great, nice leather, nice workmanship, a solid look. Just big. (Also on the positive side, just dropped the larger boots off at a local Orvis store and was given full credit, no questions asked)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality overkill,
March 9, 2009
By: RJRick
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is truly quality overkill !! Boots of this quality and value are very hard if impossible to find. These are true English boots made in such quality that it is of a bygone era. You cannot go wrong in purchasing these boots."
Review 11 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding quality and service!,
March 6, 2009
By: Satya2
from Portland, OR
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I would like to thank Orvis for offering such a great quality product as well as providing exceptional guarantee service to back up customers.
I am so happy to wear these beautiful boots in my perfect size after exchanging.
You can never go wrong with these impeccably crafted English boots purchased from Orvis.
"
Review 12 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too Big,
February 6, 2009
By: Busterdog
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Purchased the boots for a winter trip to Europe, they certainly are beautifully made boots though the size US 9.5 I ordered is most certainly a UK size 9.5, I feel as if I'm swimming in them. As they were the only robust shoes I took with me I HAD to wear them, rendering them unreturnable - I will never wear them again as they feel and LOOK much too big. Sad as they are decent boots. I have purchased other types of boots, in the past, from Orvis without a problem. A solution would be to warn potential buyers that the boots run big."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 9, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and thanked him for his complimentary comments about these boots. Orvis apologized for the fact that they proved to be too big for him and, also, for the inconvenience that this caused on his recent trip to Europe. Orvis thanked the customer for taking the time to provide this feedback and offered an exchange or a refund. Orvis will cheerfully exchange or refund a customer’s purchase at any time, for any reason; our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 13 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
You should specify they are in UK size,
January 17, 2009
By: Satya
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought them in size 10.5 because they are not specified as whether in U.S or U.K size so I thought they would come in U.S size with no doubt. But then I tried on I felt oddly too big for size 10.5. That made me go to size chart on some shoe stores on the web to find out U.K size in 10.5 is 11 to 11.5 in U.S. No wonder why I feel almost a whole size bigger. I wish I returned them for a smaller size, but it's too late."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamFebruary 4, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that his shoes proved to be too big for him, even though these are US shoe sizes (not UK). Orvis also thanked the customer for providing this feedback and offered an exchange or a refund. Orvis will cheerfully exchange or refund a customer’s purchase at any time, for any reason; our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 14 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brogues,
November 25, 2007
By: Voris
from Raleigh, NC
"These shoes are really nice. The styling is impeccable. They are truly a throwback to original craftsmanship and style. I receive a lot of compliments from older people who remember the era when style, elegance and craftsmanship meant just as much as comfort and and a low overhead. The only drawbacks in my estimation are 1.) they take time to break in, and 2.) you probably need an insole for extended use, otherwise I love them. I like the fact that they fit a versitile lifestyle. I can wear them to work with dress pants and a shirt/tie or put on jeans and wear them out without skipping a beat."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for English Sportsman's Burnished Leather Brogues
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shoes Run Large,
September 5, 2007
By: Brent
"The shoes are well made, but seem to run at least a half-size too large, even when worn with heavy socks."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.