Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Thundershirt

An innovative solution that's ideal for dogs who suffer from a fear of thunder, fireworks, loud noises, or separation anxiety. The gentle, constant pressure of the Thundershirt™ has a profound calming effect on anxious dogs. Safe, comfortable, and completely drug free, it has a remarkable 85% success rate. In gray. Measurement reflects girth around chest. Cotton/polyester/spandex. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 14(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thundershirt
Review 1 for Thundershirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Helps A Little,
September 15, 2011
By: NATJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Our guy loved it at first. Really seemed to give him some confidence. Easy to put on. Looks handsome too. However, when the real thunder starts he is still frightened and still shakes. I would say he is definatley not as bad as he was before. Went from terrified to "really scared." For that reason we will be keeping it. I think it's worth a try if your dog has a real problem with storms. I see from the reviews results vary greatly - may work for some and not others. Since Orvis guarantees their products it's worth a shot."
Review 2 for Thundershirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thunder Shirt - It Works,
August 20, 2011
By: kysister5
from Arlington, VA
"I would not have believed it if I had not tried this shirt on my dog. I have an older dog, 12+ years, who has become more and more frightened of thunder. lightening and fireworks. Last New Years Eve she had us up most of the night due to fireworks. Well, since we purchased the Thunder Shirt, all we have to do is slip it on her. It somehow adds a measure of comfort. Her whimpering and crying stop. You must try this shirt. She normally wears a large but I bought this shirt in a medium as she is very slim."
Review 3 for Thundershirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great product -- but not for Jameson,
June 15, 2011
By: GoldenLover69
from Amherst, MA
"Our Golden loved it at first, during the break-in phase. He looked like he was wearing coronation robes. He strutted, he pranced, he showed all his friends. But when the thunder came, he was back in the basement, cowering behind the furnace. He still loves to wear it, but we'll be returning it."
Review 4 for Thundershirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helps dog with anxiety,
May 23, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Northern Michigan
"I did not want to use medications to help my dog deal with storms and the noise from jets, bombs and guns that plague us during the year from a nearby army base. While my dog continues to show some signs of anxiety we noticed that with the thunder shirt on she does not shake as much or try to hide in the closet as usual. The jacket is made of soft material that can be adjusted for a comfortable fit. It's easy to put on. I haven't washed it yet but it looks like it would hold up well."
Review 5 for Thundershirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great help!,
April 26, 2011
By: mucha
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We have an 8 year old golden retriever named Taylor. She doesn't mind the rain but as soon as she hears even far off thunder she is very unhappy. She tries to hide in corners, behind furniture and in the back of her crate. We are having record rain in Ohio this April with lots of thunder. I needed to try something. The Thunder Shirt has made a big difference for her. I followed the conditioning instructions. I found those tips very helpful and she seems happy to have the shirt put on when she starts to feel anxious. She still finds a quiet, out of the way place to be but seems much more able to handle her stress. She has even gone outside during a storm with it on and that is amazing! The cost is very reasonable and it is a very well made product. If you are having a "thunder" issue - give the Thunder Shirt a try!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thundershirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LIFE SAVER,
April 26, 2011
By: FranklinsMom
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Our dog, Franklin is blind. He is such a trooper and go-getter with everything else but thunder & vet visits.
We tried everything to help calm him, or so we thought. It just broke our hearts to see his fear and trembling when thunder rumbled. We saw a a piece in one our publications about the Thundershirt. Ordered it from Orvis, when it arrived, very calmly put in on Franklin just to get him used to it. He actually pranced around. We were so pleased, it fits well, beautiful concept and IT WORKS! We put it on, he curls up in his bed and snoozes thru it all!!
"
Review 7 for Thundershirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
April 21, 2011
By: Streamer
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"It was easy to put on our dog and she has no trouble wearing it, but we really haven't noticed any change in her reactions to thunder or loud noises--she is still very nervous during thunder storms. Kind of disappointed that there wasn't some noticeable improvement in that area."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 10, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the shirt did not work for their pet. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.
Review 8 for Thundershirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the magic bullet,
April 20, 2011
By: KenS
from Chicago
"I have a 25 pound terrier mix, the medium fits perfectly. I was mildly hopeful with the reviews posted, but like another reviewer figured if it wasn't all it claimed, it would serve well as a sweater. Well, so far it is a sweater.
The last thunderstorm she shook and tried to bury her head under my legs. Did it take the edge off a little? Maybe, but not much. I did put the shirt on just as the storm started. I will try to place it before it starts and will amend this report if there is any improvement.
And I don't know if I see any improvement in any other areas yet either, like leash aggressiveness. I figured the three star rating as 5 stars for a sweater and one star as sedative apparel.
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 10, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that this shirt did not work well for their pet. Orvis offered to exchange this shirt or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.
Review 9 for Thundershirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
REALLY WORKS,
April 4, 2011
By: LuvMyPups
from Westwood, MA
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"One of our dogs is incredibly freaked out by thunderstorms -- or any loud noise, like fireworks. Don't ask me how this thing works, but it really works. Today we had a terrible storm with house-rattling claps of thunder. I found her in her crate cowering, shaking and panting. I coaxed her out long enough to put on the thundershirt. The shaking stopped almost immediately. She stayed in her crate, but she was calm. No shaking, no panting. It is important to put the shirt on correctly because of all the velcro -- it's a little tricky to figure it out, so I practiced putting it on my dog before we used it in a storm. What a great invention."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thundershirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
skeptical, but impressed:),
March 4, 2011
By: toddabb
from Milford, CT.
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have to say even after rereading the product description I'm still thinking, right.... a vest that makes your dog more secure/comfortable but add one New England winter, a recent grooming and a guilty owner, I'm thinking a warm vest for morning and evening walks at the beach would be great, the Orvis operator recommended this one and a week in its been a total hit, "Sheba" happily waits in the foyer for the vest to go-the same dog that barks at every truck, leaf and squirrel that goes down the street is quiet and dare I say patient, incredible:) Outside-she calmer and seemingly even happier than normal, time will tell but so far the best 35.00 I've spent in a long time. Thank you-T"
Review 11 for Thundershirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doodles' Thunder Shirt !,
March 4, 2011
By: JamYam
"My husband and I were amazed how calm Doodles remained during a very recent weather incident with a lot of lightning and thunder. We were under a tornado watch with sirens going off with lightning, high winds blowing and thunder banging. Doodles stayed calm and did not get anxious she has always before. She
likes wearing her Thunder Shirt.
THANK YOU ORVIS!!!
Betty"
Review 12 for Thundershirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Dog,
February 22, 2011
By: Harls
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This shirt has changed my dog! She would turn into "psyco dog" even when the TV would be testing emergency equipment. I put it on her even when I don't anticipate any disruptions and she now likes the Schwan's man. It's magic!!"
Review 13 for Thundershirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not sure what to think,
February 3, 2011
By: Lovemydogs
from Tomball, TX
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have a german short hair that has seperation issues and is very afraid of thunderstorms. The vet was going to put her on meds, but I wanted to try this b/c #1 it was cheaper and #2 I didn't have to worry about medicnes.
Let me start by saying, this may work for your dog. Mine hates wearing it! So, instead of tearing up my house, she is trying to get it off. I am still not giving up on it though. I worry about how hot it will be in the summer, but we will see. I do wish I would of went a size up. She is 50lbs and I got a medium. If she gains any weight I do not have room to make it tighter."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamFebruary 11, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that this vest does not work for your pet. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Thundershirt
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1