Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®

Crafted to last a lifetime, these classic waterproof boat shoes are made from the same 7-oz. oil-tanned, water-repellent leather that Gokey uses in their famous Snakeproof Boots. Rubber midsole with self-cleaning Vibram® sole for excellent traction. Waterproof shoes for men in brown. Made in USA.Whole and half sizes: 8-12, 13, 14. D and EE widths.
Average Customer Rating:
4.394 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
10
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
4
80 of 99(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Review 1 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent boat shoes,
August 21, 2015
By: 1SkyhawkDriver
from Portland ME
"Have not worn them very much yet but they appear to be excellent quality"
Review 2 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoe,
August 20, 2015
By: Rob46
from Saratoga Springs, NY
"Best quality casual shoe I've found in a long time. The Gokey name is quality. I'm sure they'll last for many years."
Review 3 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shopping early,
August 10, 2015
By: TommieMommy
from Savannah, GA
"My son-in-law has very good taste in clothing. I hit the jackpot last Xmas with Orvis items from Ireland. This year I think I'm on a roll. We live on the water ... the boat shoes are the best-looking and sturdiest I've seen."
Review 4 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for,
August 4, 2015
By: JGGG
from Hilton Head Island, SC
"Good looking well made and comfortable ..... what more can one say"
Review 5 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Quality,
July 29, 2015
By: Rwilsie
from Santa Ana , CA
"Good quality leather. Comfortable feel right out of box. A little on heavy side compared to most boat shoes. Limited choice on width - I'm usually C width and bought D width in 1/2 size smaller. Fit well new.
Hoping the stretching won't leave them too large.
"
Review 6 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old style quality shoes,
July 2, 2015
By: CMSMGA
from Plano, Texas
"Just received, it appears that they will live up to expectations. They are made in the US by an old line company and they are much more substantial than other boat-shoes I have acquired recently. It is abit early to know about durability and I am still in the break-in stage. Sizewise it was useful to me that I couls acquire a wider than D width."
Review 7 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent pair of shoes!,
June 28, 2015
By: JohnLo
from Singapore
"I love these shoes! they look great and feel great! they do come slightly larger than normal so it would probably be wise to get a half size smaller. Yet, nothing that an additional insole can't fix!"
Review 8 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
how the mighty have fallen,
June 11, 2015
By: davidpaul
from New England
"The bittersweet of it all is that the shoes are uniquely fine relative to the design itself.
After wearing them everyday for a year I sent them back to be resoled ... twice. And even after the second 'repair' the results were mind-blowing, e.g., the soles were not centered. Plumes of stitching were chaffing against my feet and other not-wonderful disasters.
They ruined the shoes.
Such a shame since the design creates expectations of excellence.
Save your money and buy something more durable and comfortable from any number of other makers."
Review 9 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gokey boat shoes,
May 28, 2015
By: Carrabassett
from San Francisco, Ca
"My Gokey boat shoes came on time as ordered, very important.
I love my Gokey boat shoes, they fit like a glove and are very comfortable.
I am going sailing!
"
Review 10 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Costly but worth it.,
May 25, 2015
By: ChuckD76
from Richmond, VA
"Second pair in 20 years. Have had several other boat shoes in between. First pair still good for yard work. You get what you pay for."
Review 11 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer shoes,
May 5, 2015
By: lemgolfer
from Vandalia Ohio
"Great quality and fit, seem to be breaking in fine only worn 3 times, just received them."
Review 12 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Shoe,
May 4, 2015
By: FrankyO
from New York,NY
"First time I have worn a Gorkey Shoe and they are terrific. No break in period. Comfortable the first time I put them on.
Looking forward to many years of good service.
Frank G."
Review 13 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the cost,
April 17, 2015
By: tsonka
"I wanted a high quality, preferably American Made pair of shoes that were nice enough to wear to semi-formal business dinners and basically be one of my “good” pair of shoes. I am very pleased with my purchase and would buy again if given my money back.
I will note that the shoes did feel tight when first worn and took a bit of breaking in, but that is to be expected.
Also, Orvis’s customer support is top notch. I always have a of spare pair of shoe strings for my shoes. After placing my order I contacted and asked about them and was told no problem and sent a spare pair, like they were happy to give them to me."
Review 14 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great first impressions,
April 12, 2015
By: SENC
from NC
"Have only had them a limited time, but first impressions are very positive. Great looking and appear to be very well made, comfortable right out of the box. I bought them despite the high cost because I tend to go through a couple pairs of Sperry's between early spring and late fall, so I'm hoping these will last a couple years to make them a good purchase. I bought the same size in a narrower width than my Gokey boots knowing I'd wear them with no or thin socks... fit was as expected. Time will tell whether they earn the "world's most durable" moniker Orvis gives them, but we're off to a good start."
Review 15 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and well made,
April 7, 2015
By: RandyGa
"First two negatives: these are redder in color than the pictures, and they fit about 1/2 size large (with socks) If you want to wear these barefoot I'd go down a full size. The width though is correct. I have only had them a couple weeks so I cannot comment on durability. I imagine they will last a long time as they are fairly thick leather and put together well. Overall they are comfortable and good looking."
Review 16 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the $!,
February 2, 2015
By: TPO2
from Monument, Colorado
"I had been looking for a good pair of knock around shoes and the Gokey's filled the bill. Nice looking, comfy and a good fit right out of the box (you need to wear them in a tad to soften them up). They go well with Jeans or Chinos and have become my "go to" shoes. I had been wearing a competitors shoe in the past but have no further need to look elsewhere again . . . these have fast become my favorites and I expect them to last longer than I do. Go get a pair!"
Review 17 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
these get compliments...,,
January 26, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"...but they're also refined, tough, good-looking, well-made, and durable. Almost inspires me to by a boat to wear them on."
Review 18 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Boat Shoes,
January 13, 2015
By: Shelby
from New England
"These are absolutely awesome boat shoes that are not only extremely comfortable but super supportive I've worn lots of boat shoes over the years, but these are definitely far superior. These shoes can take a beating but still look great. I treat them with Orvis leather conditioner regularly, and they just get better and better each time I wear them. I highly recommend these shoes if you want great comfort and durability. Treat yourself and your feet to a pair of these and, I'm sure you'll never buy another pair of boat shoes. These look great with jeans or shorts and are most comfortable with or without socks. A great product and best of all, they are made in the United States!"
Review 19 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boat Shoe,
December 12, 2014
By: JWFMGA
from Phoenix, AZ
"Simply superb. People who wear this shoe will be life long fans and will undoubtedly be Orvis customers forever."
Review 20 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super shoe,
November 11, 2014
By: DrBob1
from Harpers Ferry, WV
"Been to 2 foot specialists for pain in foot who recommended I get out of "athletic type" shoe. I had owned (and wore out) a pair of Gokey's boat shoes many years ago and decided to get another. Wish I had done so right after the last pair wore out!!! Could have saved myself (and my feet) from a lot of in-between grief. So comfy and no more pain!"