Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®

Crafted to last a lifetime, these classic waterproof boat shoes are made from the same 7-oz. oil-tanned, water-repellent leather that Gokey uses in their famous Snakeproof Boots. Rubber midsole with self-cleaning Vibram® sole for excellent traction. Waterproof shoes for men in brown. Made in USA.Whole and half sizes: 8-12, 13, 14. D and EE widths.
Average Customer Rating:
4.284 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
6
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
4
57 of 74(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Review 1 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What was I waiting for?,
September 10, 2014
By: Rayland
from Danville, CA
"I've been wearing boat shoes since the 1960s, so I have purchased a lot of them. These are second to none. Quality leather and craftsmanship. I have narrow heels but with a cinch of the rawhide laces, the shoes fit great. Don't wait like I did. Treat yourself to these shoes now."
Review 2 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Boat Shoe Ever,
August 11, 2014
By: ewill
from Miami, FL
"Being longtime boaters, I have bought a lot of Boat Shoes, but these Gokey's are the best, impervious to water. is truly non-skid and hold their shape perfectly. A great buy."
Review 3 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The BEST,
July 29, 2014
By: BigTrip
from Union, New Jersey
"This shoe is undoubtedly the finest boat shoe that I have ever purchased...cannot say enough about them...!!"
Review 4 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best!,
June 10, 2014
By: mydogcares
from Sonoma
"These are the best boat shoes I have owned. True to size. Very comfortable without socks. Good for that quick dash out to get the paper. High quality leather work."
Review 5 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 19, 2014
By: WarDigDaddy
from Atlanta,GA
"I bought these shoes in 2000. I have worn them from Nags Head to Panama. They have been soaked in salt water many times. Stood on rolling decks for Peacock Bass and Sailfish The have been re-soled and refurbished by Orvis at least twice. I wear them often even when not fishing and they seem to still have a lot of life in them."
Review 6 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
boat show,
March 17, 2014
By: redwall4
"heavier than expected, excellent leather, somewhat tighter than expected for wide width."
Review 7 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
sizes run large,
February 26, 2014
By: Anonymous
from Long Island
"I ordered a pair in size 10.5, which is what I wear. the moccasins shipped were plainly marked as 10.5, but ran at least a half size, if not more, larger. had to return them.
I tried 5 times to use a nickname it would accept -- do you want this review or not?
"
Review 8 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
February 14, 2014
By: Luckycat1
from Richmond, Texas
"These shoes are extremely well made and fit perfectly with great comfort from the first time worn. I've owned many boat shoes through the years and these are best. Well worth the price!"
Review 9 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Heel too big,
February 13, 2014
By: GRH923
from New Orleans
"Except for the heel slipping , it would be the perfect shoe. Tried two sizes without any luck."
Review 10 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy Shoes,
February 4, 2014
By: Teuthis
from Tubac, AZ
"I have broken in these shoes and they are quite comfortable. They seem to be sturdy but soft; good shoes for getting around in but not for long walks. I think I will enjoy these shoes for a long time. They broke in much faster than the Gokey Savauge Oxfords I have."
Review 11 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awsome!!,
February 3, 2014
By: troutman68
"Ordered while on vacation. Just got home. These shoes are beyond expectation. Quality and they fit like they were custome maid. way to go Orvis& Gokey....."
Review 12 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality,
January 31, 2014
By: Docer
"Excellent quality. Extremely well made but too heavy for a boat shoe. Also mch too expensive for a casual shoe. Shoe returned because of weight."
Review 13 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed...,
January 27, 2014
By: Toss
from Pleasanton, Ca.
"Quality appears very good; rugged and durable. However, the shoe is very heavy, almost like wearing a boot. The real problem is the shoe slides up and down on my heal. Shoe size is correct in other areas. Going down a half size would create other problems. It would have been nice if the local store carried shoes so I could have tried on before buying."
Review 14 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality,
January 27, 2014
By: Richlee
from Wisconsin
"This is the first pair of Gokey boat shoes I have ever owned and I am impressed. American made they fit perfect and the quality of craftmanship is evident."
Review 15 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good to go,
September 30, 2013
By: pleasedtofind
"I bought these shoes as a birthday gift to myself and although pretty expensive for casual shoes, they have proven to be very comfortable (after the first couple of days) and seem to mold to my foot. A great slip-on for a weekend trip or hop to the grocery. I have found I look forward to wearing them."
Review 16 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and comfort,
September 27, 2013
By: rpeter12
from Duluth, MN
"You can tell when you first pick them up that they are well made. Fit great the first time I put them on."
Review 17 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT SHOES FOR BAD FEET,
September 25, 2013
By: flgolfer
from TAMPA. FLORIDA
"I HAVE HAD BOTH ANKLES REPLACED AND HAVE SEARCHED FOR SHOES OTHER THAN RUNNING SHOES TO WEAR. THESE SHOES ARE THE ANSWER. THANKS GOKEY!!"
Review 18 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best USA boat shoes,
July 31, 2013
By: USA4me
from Minnetonka, MN
"Thick pebbled leather, double stitching, Vibram soles, arch support, brass eyelets, water-proof. These are the boat shoes we were looking for...and a must for my husband...made in USA. I did not think I could find these shoes without a custom order. He is an E width, ordered the EE and he is super comfortable and looking forward to years of use on the boat. Soles are non-marking and have traction when wet. Please keep making this awesome product."
Review 19 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Another Gokey Disappointment,
June 13, 2013
By: FloridaConch
from Florida
"Over the years I have bought a number of pairs of Gokey shoes and boots, and in each case I have sent them back because of sloppy construction. This is the case with these boat shoes. Though the leather is soft and supple, the inside of the left shoe is so badly constructed in the arch and along the sides that it will, over time, cause considerable foot problems. I wear Allen Edmond and Mephisto shoes, and what separates them from Gokey is quality control. There seems to be none with the latter manufacturer. If Orvis continues to insist on manufacturing its own line of shoes and boots, it needs to address this problem, given the high cost of these shoes."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for World's Most Durable Boat Shoes by Gokey®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gokey Boat Shoe,
June 8, 2013
By: Teegan
from Seattle
"Like other reviewers - my experience with the Gokey boat shoe is that when you first wear them they will take a week or so to soften up and form to your foot. Do not plan to wear them for more than 4 hours per day for the first week to avoid blisters.
The positive side is once you get through the break in phase, they fit like a glove. Good arch support. I would also order a half size larger than normal. It would also be great if they offered a "EEE" for wide feet.
"