Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex

2 1/8 oz. 8'6", 4-piece, Mid-Flex fly rod for 4-wt. line.We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest fly fishing rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best.If there was only one rod length available for fly rods it would be the 8-foot 6-inch rod. Eminently manageable on smaller water, it has the length and power to handle larger rivers as well. This small stream 4-weight fly rod offers the sensitivity to enjoy small trout and the strength to handle the lurking bruiser. Helios's patented graphite technology takes this combination to new levels and offers the lightest, yet most powerful version of this great standard to ever come on the market. If you can buy only one Helios trout rod, this might very well be the one you need. Made in USA.The lightest, most-accurate, smooth casting 4-weight fly rod made.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best rod in the industry,
March 6, 2012
By: BrandonBoedecker
from PRO Outfitters in Montana
"By far the lightest, most powerful rod I have ever held in my hands. I've heard many people say "You'll be fine if you buy the top-of-the-line rod from any of the major rod manufacturers." If "fine" is what you want, go ahead. If you want the best, I'd go with a Helios.
- Brandon Boedecker, PRO Outfitters, Montana"
Review 2 for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
January 18, 2010
By: txflyfish
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This rod is great. Casting a dry fly with this rod is pure joy and it easily handles wooly buggers with bb shot. This rod allows you to feel smaller fish while providing enough backbone to handle 2-3lb trout from a kayak.
Though it is expensive, this rod will quickly remind you of all the reasons you love to flyfish."
Review 3 for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Upgrade,
October 7, 2012
By: Highlander1592
from MT Airy, NC
"I had purchased a Clearwater II about a year ago,
I started to experience clearcoat problems so I e-mailed customer service.
A very quick response and a phone call they offered me a upgrade,
so I upgraded to the Helio's with great customer service I had the rod in three days.
Very nice rod, but it had somebody else's name on it. Great craftsmanship all the dots lined up
you could tell this was a brand-new rod. So I called Orvis about the name on it to find out if it was the person
who had built the rod. They said no that they would send me another one, to send that one back.
So I received the second rod had my name customized on it,This one the alignment dots do not line up on two of the section
and you could tell that it had Ferrule wax used on it before. I just feel like they made one rod
out of two out of the graphite pile. But that's just my opinion.
But the first Helio's I got was a great rod just had someone else's name on it.
"
Review 4 for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
World's finest fly rod!,
February 28, 2012
By: Tooshort
from Montana and New Zealand
"I live in New Zealand half the year and normally fish 6 weight rods. This year, I strung up my new Helios 4 weight, somewhat nervous about these large trout on a rod that might not have enough "grunt". Holy Mackerel!!!! The finest casting rod I have ever owned! Handles trout up into double digit perfectly. I have never cast so well, either, and I've been fly fishing for 59 years! Buy one! You'll be amazed!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best rod in the solar system,
October 3, 2011
By: phdezra
from New York, NY
"I used this rod at the Orvis fly fishing school in Vermont for a few days.
Wow. Setting aside the cost which everyone discusses, the rod feels like a lightweight extension of your arm. Meaning, your casting ability WILL improve and while it cannot guarantee more fish catches, it will certainly make things easier.
Naturally it LOOKS beautiful, but it is truly a gem to use and cast--whether forward, back, roll, double haul. Yet allows for mending and fine sensitivities. Magnificence in a rod.
Once you use this and own one, you will have a hard time putting it down. A+"
Review 6 for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Line me up, Scotty,
August 18, 2011
By: zencast
"I have fished this rod in the rivers and lakes of Colorado and Wyoming. For me, this is quite a big stick to be called a 4 weight “mid-flex”. With a true AFTM 4 weight line this rod is a chore to feed line and load at stream fishing distances of under thirty feet. For smaller dry flies in close it doesn’t have a lot to offer except light weight, and it IS delightfully light in the hand. I put a true 5 weight line with a long head on this rod and it really came into it’s own, especially with larger flies. Big weighted streamers, double beaded stone fly nymphs with trailers, and #8 hopper dropper rigs are all meat and potatoes for this Helios. You can’t overload it, and it will give you instant hook-ups on bass. It’s lighter than most trout rods and almost as fast as a good ocean rod. A sweeter tip would be better for trout. I have deducted one star because I don't feel the label or description matches the rod. I have fished around six premium four weights in this length."
Review 7 for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of the line,
January 24, 2011
By: FishandBirds
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've casted many fly rods and this is definitely the best rod I have ever held in my hands. It combines incredible power with perfect finesse, and is my go to fly rod in any dry fly scenario. I have used this rod for tiny creek trout in New England as well as giant New Zealand trout, and it has been ideal across the board. If I had to live the rest of my life with one rod, it would be this one."
Review 8 for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing.,
June 8, 2010
By: FloridaFlyFisher
from Woodstock Vermont
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Its expensive. Its fragile. Its not going to catch fish for you. Its not going to make you a better fisherman,
But.
It's just about the best Rod you can buy. It will make everything you do easier. Casts like a dream... nearly weightless... powerful, but not without the touch needed for short casts. I love everything about the rod, including the beautiful finish.
Before I bought it, I wondered whether or not the Rod was worth the $$.... Now I'm buying a saltwater Helios to add to my collection."
Review 9 for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbelievable Dry Fly Rod!,
December 31, 2009
By: NorCalFlyFisher
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was surprised when my wife got this rod for me for Christmas. From looks of the rod tube, sock, and the rod itself, this is certainly a kingly gift. But it goes well beyond looks, this rod performs. I was amazed by its leaf-on-the-water dry fly presentations. I can feel this rod loading up with a certainty that makes me more confident in those hard to reach places where the trout rise. (Under hangs, etc.) Beyond the NorCal area, I brought this rod to the South for some Large Mouth bass fishing and fished poppers! (Heresy!) But when this rod had to handle 5-pounders it certainly had the backbone to handle their acrobatics. Great rod!"
Review 10 for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios 4 WT Beats Expectations!,
July 20, 2009
By: SteelheadMFS
from Boise
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been a loyal Orvis customer for over 20 years and a guide for the last 5 years. My first Orvis rod was a 6 weight Silver Label -- this is the rod that kept me loyal to the Orvis product line. This 6 wt has landed over 100 Steelhead and too many trout to count.
I remember the Orvis migration from SL to TLS to T3 to Zero Gravity and was thinking the move to Helios was ridiculous, b/c I couldn't see how one could improve on a zero gravity. Finally, broke down and made a deal w/my local Orvis Dealer and now own this Helios 4 weight, which has been a dream. I barely have to cast this rod, as it casts itself -- I only have to aim. The flies at the end of this rod land as softly as they do from a full flex rod or from my novelty "00" weight "sage" rod (sorry to mention sage here, I had to get the 00, just for the heck of it). I was just on the Middle Fork of the Salmon River (ID) in windy conditions and had no issue casting this rod 30 to 50 feet. Plus, it handled every single large Cut and Cutbow the river could throw at it. I'm really impressed with it and hope that I still find a reason to use my Zero Gravity 5 weight rod. Looking forward to trying one of these in a 7/8 weight for this upcoming Steelhead season. The $ is high, but if you fish as much as I do, you too will realize that there just isn't a better 4 weight on the market. Way to go and I hope Orvis standardizes on their product line for a while.
"
Review 11 for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT ROD FOR MEDIUM-SIZED STREAMS,
April 24, 2009
By: ALLABOUTTROUT
from EVERETT, WASHINGTON
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I ORDERED THIS ROD ALONG WITH THE 904-4 HELIOS BECAUSE I WANTED A ROD THAT WOULD "FIT" BETWEEN MY 905-4 HELIOS AND MY OTHER HELIOS FOR SMALLER STREAMS AND FISHING. I WANTED TO TRY THEM BOTH. I REALLY LIKED AND PREFERRED THIS ROD, BUT I WANTED TO CONTEMPLATE IT FURTHER, SO I SENT THEM BOTH BACK. I AM SURPRISED THIS ROD HAS NOT GOTTEN MORE REVIEWS. IT IS A GREAT ROD FOR FISHING FOR TROUT IN MOST SITUATIONS, FROM SMALL STREAMS TO BIG RIVERS."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
755.00 or 249.00 ?,
September 12, 2008
By: fontaine
"was in the market to upgrade from my older 4wt redington rod. checked out many. orvis o-g's went on sale so i checked it out. it didnt feel so o-g. helios 8'6 4wt did feel o-g. i got to cast one - wow crisp and fast with soft landing once you learn to handle a fast rod. the only reason i gave it 3 stars is price. i bought a diamondback flawless 4wt for 248.99 . helios was 755.00. ive fly fished 32 years, tie and fool many educated trout. for the money the flawless was perfect for me. if it was a hundred bucks more it would still be a great rod. wait this is still a positive orvis review. ive seen guys outfitted to the hilt with the best money could buy, and they cant cast 30 feet or roll cast or mend to save their life. the helios is a rod for an experienced caster, someone who knows how a rod should feel. as you enter the high end arena of fly rods, the price tag goes way up . if you want to spend this kind of money on a rod, for a little difference in weight plus a few other benefits, kudos to you, i wont. if you do you will be casting the true king cadillac of flyrods . good fishin fontaine, from jersey..."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good rod,
March 21, 2008
By: GreenSandpiper
from Cumbria, England
"This is an excellent rod. It casts tight loops and has plenty of power. It is suited to dry fly work, especially in tight situations. It is not however "mid-flex" in the accepted sense. The action is much stiffer and more "tip". I would strongly recommend it on this basis, but for those who want a rod that has a more forgiving action, I would recommend either the ZG 9' 4 weight or the ZG Helios 9' 4 weight."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Helios™ 4-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1