Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Gokey® Bullhide Belt

Our men's leather belts are built for a lifetime of wear. The same tough vegetable-tanned Bullhide leather that Gokey® has been using to create heirloom-quality boots and shoes for generations makes this belt one of the most durable and handsome you'll find anywhere. Solid brass buckle. Men's leather belts in brown. Made in USA.Even waist sizes: 32-46. 1½" wide. Order one size larger than pants size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.185 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
21 of 27(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Review 1 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth the money,
May 7, 2013
By: mcswig
from brooklyn,ny
"The price was right, size was right and a well made belt . American made"
Review 2 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy.,
February 25, 2013
By: delrew
from Halifax, NS, Canada
"This is belt looks and feels substantial and is likely to "age" well. It is sturdy, and it's pricey. But don't expect it to be very dressy. As noted by other reviewers, order two sizes larger than pants size, if in doubt."
Review 3 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Belt Ever,
January 11, 2013
By: ThorEric
"Top notch materials and craftsmanship typical of Gokey & Orvis."
Review 4 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Belt I've Ever Owned,
December 31, 2012
By: JARUSH
from Live Oak, FL
"I had been searching for a good looking belt to complement my work wardrobe, but also needed one sturdy enough to hold my carry weapon and extra clip. This belt not only takes care of both of my requirements, but matches my Gokey Sauvage Oxfords to boot!"
Review 5 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile,
May 28, 2012
By: JC3VA
from Virginia
"Classy enough to be worn with khakis, but rugged enough to be worn with jeans. I am a relatively young man, but think it is a belt for young and old alike. Make sure to order a full order larger than your pants size, as the belt does not run big."
Review 6 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
March 28, 2012
By: Tombs
from Pittsburgh, PA
"The Gokey Bullhide Belt is the perfect belt to wear with jeans and other outdoor pants. It's both good looking and rugged."
Review 7 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Limited usefulness,
February 20, 2012
By: Spide
from Chicago area
"Too wide and thick for any use but with jeans. The catalog description did not suggest its rough-hewn intent."
Review 8 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Solid belt, but,
January 31, 2012
By: LOCH
"Disappointing relative to expectations. Substantial piece of cowhide built to last - however, expected a better finish on the inside for this premium price- very rough grain wears hard on belt loops. Excellent brass buckle, however."
Review 9 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Belt,
January 23, 2012
By: GBgmc
from WI
"nice drable, good looking belt. Maybe a little heavier than I would prefer."
Review 10 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great belt,
January 11, 2012
By: permit25
from New Smyrna Beach Fl
"I own several belts from orvis, including the grandaddy of belts---the croc belt, but I will describe this as the best jeans belt ever owned. Sizing was great. Excellent leather and very good to the touch.."
Review 11 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
January 4, 2012
By: HMS79
from Cambridge, MA
"Perfect to wear with khaki trousers, Gokey's oxfords. Also looks fine with necktie and tweed jacket. Am ordering my second belt, one size smaller, as I am shedding a few pounds. I hope they keep making this one and that I can later order a third belt one size smaller still."
Review 12 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gokey product,
January 2, 2012
By: jd71
"heavy weight, nicely constructed & made in the USA"
Review 13 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleased Gift Receiver,
December 25, 2011
By: Greenbird
from Baton Rouge, LA
"My husband was very pleased with his Gokey Bullhide Belt. He commented on the thickness of the belt to say he had not seen one of such quality in some time. It met his expectations completely."
Review 14 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good material and construction, but,
November 1, 2011
By: Shteevr
from Santa Ana, California
"This is a beautifully rugged everyday belt, but I thought the belt loop was positioned too far away from the buckle and it causes the whole thing to stick out."
Review 15 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
great leather poor fit,
August 25, 2011
By: redband
"I have been a big fan of gokey products for years. The leather quality is extremely good. I have hoped they would begin making belts to match the great footwear. Unfortunately the width, weight and location of the tip keeper make the current product unwearable even with a field pant."
Review 16 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor Design,
May 24, 2011
By: JAZ3
"This belt is well made but has a major design flaw as mentioned by another reviewer. The tab keeper is misplaced so the belt buckle can't be centered properly. On it's way back...."
Review 17 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gokey bullhide belt,
May 9, 2011
By: MHGA
from Las Vegas NV
"great buckle, great belt -- but very overpriced
you will need to want it - regardless of the price
"
Review 18 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Belt Loop Disappointment,
April 12, 2011
By: Jayw49
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The belt loop was too far from the buckle so it wouldn't fit properly between the belt loops on my jeans. It wasn't possible to center the buckle in line with the zipper. It would only fit if it was off-center. If the belt loop was closer to the buckle, this would be a great belt. Otherwise the quality was very good and I'm sure it would last a long time before wearing out."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 27, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and let him know we were disappointed to hear this belt failed to meet expectations. Please remember: Orvis will happily exchange or refund your purchase if any item does not meet your expectations.
Review 19 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beefy Belt,
March 4, 2011
By: JustaComment
from Sierra Foothills, California
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you're looking for a frou-frou fashion belt, this is not for you. I wasn't and I also didn't want something masquerading as high quality when it really wasn't.
This is one beefy belt - the buckle is heavy, solid and conveys the sort of seriousness this belt warrants. The belt itself is going to be too wide if your pants have narrow loops, but this should not be a problem with the type of pants that are appropriate for a belt of this standard. As noted by other reviewers, the belt runs short, so be sure to go +2" or maybe more compared to your pants size, and yes, it does not just glide through the loops due to the high friction backing.
One of the things I look for in a leather belt of this type is substantial heft accompanied by a lack of the sort of stiffness you'd find in a cheap belt. Have to say that this belt meets this standard to a T.
I said that this is not a belt for fashionistas, but it looks like a cousin to the Invincible loaders I bought from Orvis a few years ago - and that's a compliment."
Review 20 for Gokey® Bullhide Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Product,
January 27, 2011
By: Hurtis
from Ohio, Buisness Executive, Pilot, Hunter, Sailor
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My search for a good belt is over. This belt is built to last. It looks great with jeans, and chinos. I have found a great new companion."