Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Guide Field Watch

With easy-to-read luminescent hands and numerals that glow for up to six hours, and an extra hour hand to help track the time in a second time zone, our military-inspired men's field and dive watch is sure to become a trusted travel companion. Durable tire-tread-patterned rubber strap. Case diameter 40mm. Water resistant to 30m. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.412 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
16
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
7
32 of 51(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Guide Field Watch
Review 1 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep It Simple,
April 1, 2014
By: snookie999
from POUGHKEEPSIE,NY
"Very happy with this purchase. Easy to read date & hands. Band comfortable."
Review 2 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product, good value,
March 27, 2014
By: WillDogg
"This watch is attractive, great size for easy reading, and luminous dial is bright in the dark. Water proof watch and band. Tells 12 hour and 24 hour increments, good for traveling in different time zones."
Review 3 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Guide Field watch Rocks!,
March 8, 2014
By: Blackpirate
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
"Ruggjed, sleek, and accurate. Excellent outdoor watch with comfortable band and sleek look and
feel. I love it.
"
Review 4 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
First Orvis loser for me!,
March 1, 2014
By: Graybeard
from Richmond, VA
"I have more Orvis gear ( fly and clothing) than I can remember over a many-year period. This watch fails 50% of its functions...even the replacement you kindly sent. Wore each for a week. The dual time arrow doesn't work and the date doesn't turnover. I have set / re-set both watches countless times. Really upset because I have been looking for a simple WP,stem, dual time, date watch with an all weather band and still don't have one!!! Even discussed my problem with your repair service who confirmed I was manipulating it correctly. So Sorry....."
Review 5 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
better than expected,
February 28, 2014
By: greygoose27
"My purpose for purchasing this watch was to have a reliable inexpensive timepiece to use for outdoor activities. I was pleased with the appearance of my new purchase. It's utility is proving positive. Very satisfied."
Review 6 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watch,
February 19, 2014
By: FLewisW
from Prince George, VA
"I am very well satisfied with the watch as I am with most every product I order from Orvis. It is consistent with the quality and efficiency of everything I have to come to expect from Orvis products."
Review 7 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
valuable addition to my collection,
January 30, 2014
By: desig
from Ocean, NJ
"just purchased the guide field watch, it is everything and more that the description says. slightly larger face with 6 hr illuminated numbers makes it so convenient and easy to use I don't want to wear my other watches"
Review 8 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great looking watch,
January 30, 2014
By: otter44
from Madison, Wisconsin
"Gave this to my husband for Christmas. He loves it but found the watch band a little big for his taste. Replaced it with a thinner one and is very happy with the watch."
Review 9 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Field Watch,
January 27, 2014
By: Prowlers
from Richland WA
"I don't know if I got a defective watch
but the hour hand would not line up properly with the minute hand when setting the time on the watch.
"
Review 10 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
serviceable watch,
January 26, 2014
By: edifice
from tn
"watch has some characteristics of a military/hunting type with still some style to it-like the rubber watch band alot"
Review 11 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reasonable Product,
December 23, 2013
By: FordFan
from Newport News, VA
"The watch is well-made, light, very easy to read in daylight or darkness, and simple to maintain. The only potential problem is the strap which is comfortable but fragile, and will need to be replaced in not too long."
Review 12 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did not meet expectations,
December 10, 2013
By: FJWJ
from New Braunfels, TX
"Bought the watch in Sep. It stopped running in Nov. Never kept time well during that period. luminescence essentially nonexistent. Strap was stretchy and uncomfortable. Not what I expected from Orvis. Product has been returned."
Review 13 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far so good,
October 23, 2013
By: Xona
from West Sussex
"I read very bad reviews about this watch but I liked the looks and I still bought it. My husband is delighted with it, that's his weekend watch and being a very active person he wears it all the time, to run, to cycle and finds it fantastic. No problems so far and hopefully we won't have any! It is a very characterful watch."
Review 14 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looks good, but . . .,
August 8, 2013
By: Cadence11
"Looks good, keeps good time, but twice the hands have come seriously out of alignment. Once it was fixed but this time it came back still misaligned. When the hour hand is on the hour the minute hand is on 30 or 35 past. Parsec was honest - try and fix it yourself by fiddling with the crown, there's only so much we can do with that movement - and when told how far out the hands are they said they'd try again, but I'm not wasting any more time sending it off.
Including a photo of the movement - note the oddball small size, and there's no stem release marked so my self-help is stuck, too.
I tried to attach a photo of the movement because it is oddly undersized and has no marked stem release. The latter fault almost defeated my self-help. But I got a toothpick to the face without removing the stem, it just flops out a little. So for now, after too much attention, the watch is OK. The photo should have attached but two tries produced only two hung attempts to upload. It won't upload. More happiness for me!
"
Review 15 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Watch,
August 1, 2013
By: Elysium
from Landolozi, South Africa
"Purchased this watch before a trip to an African safari. Very stylish and worked well under all condtions"
Review 16 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great Design, Just Not Reliable,
July 22, 2013
By: jm512
from SC,TN,TX,MS
"I've owned two of these watches over the last two years. Absolutely love the design and feel of the watch. However, the first was returned six months later, after water leaked in from a jump in the lake. The watch was repaired (for a fee of course) and then the same issue a year later. I loved the design so much I bought another! Hoping the first was a lemon. Well, jokes on me, same problem a third time after sticking my arm in a hot tub to retrieve a dropped set of keys. Apparently "water resistant to 30 meters" really means "good luck"...."
Review 17 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bad idea,
April 4, 2013
By: whatnickname
"Had the watch on 3 time and the rubber band broke. Customers service offered little help"
Review 18 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Re-Reviewed After 3 Years,
February 20, 2013
By: deepsouthflyfisher
"I gave this watch a 5 star review several years ago as southernflyfisher, and it's time to update the review. After 1 year the watch stopped functioning correctly. I did not wear it for a year, and a month ago decided to send it in for repair. It was a gift from my wife and engraved, and I really liked the watch. In short, Orvis replaced it with a second rate version of the original. The engraving on the back looks terrible, the watch band is very, very long and the quality seems poor. And, I may be wrong, but the size of the watch itself seems smaller. In short, given all of the issues with setting the time and date, and then the 24 hour hand getting out of sync, I would not recommend this watch to anyone. I won't be using this replacement, I wish they had just repaired the old one and sent it back for sentimental value."
Review 19 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed in watch,
January 9, 2013
By: hardtogetittoaccept
from Davis, CA
"First time I ordered from them and my perception was it was "quality stuff".
Hoped for more in the watch, has the features I wanted, looks good, feels cheap, -- mechanism is poor, 24 hour hand isn't very accurate, mechanism is "loose", day number window very small, doesn't glow as much in the dark as hoped.
Wished they put more into the watch and less in the box it came in -- someone's got their priorities reversed.
Overall very disappointed."
Review 20 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Watch,
January 3, 2013
By: lucibes
from Blue Ridge Mt.s, NC
"I purchased this for my son (28) and he loves it. It is a unique style, nice, light weight, very comfortable and nice looking. The presentation box etc. were an unexpected surprise and quite nice."