Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Guide Field Watch

With easy-to-read luminescent hands and numerals that glow for up to six hours, and an extra hour hand to help track the time in a second time zone, our military-inspired men's field and dive watch is sure to become a trusted travel companion. Durable tire-tread-patterned rubber strap. Case diameter 40mm. Water resistant to 30m. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.483 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
8
38 of 58(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Guide Field Watch
Review 1 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really happy!!,
September 6, 2014
By: henrob
from Frederick MD
"I've had this watch since Sept 2012. I still look forward to wearing it on weekends even though I have an Omega Semester for during the week."
Review 2 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Watch,
June 17, 2014
By: Dinkus
"My husband was pleased with his new watch. However, We strongly recommend that for future, the directions are larger and easier to read. It was like an eye-chart on a tiny piece of paper."
Review 3 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Field watch - poor quality,
June 6, 2014
By: CKScott
"Watch movement was very loose and it felt cheaply made. Could not even get watch set to the proper time"
Review 4 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice watch,
May 12, 2014
By: Timminn
from Minneapolis
"Seems to be working fine. I haven't figured out how to use the second hour hand but will take another run through the directions and try again. The watchband is too large and should be shortened an inch."
Review 5 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Good Choice,
April 30, 2014
By: JforJohn
from Jacksonville FL
"Looking for a practical, durable and comfortable watch? This product lives up to the advertising. Easy to maintain and keeps accurate time. What more can we ask?"
Review 6 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Home Run,
April 29, 2014
By: PeterinMaine
"Orvis knocked it out of the park with this watch! A+ all around. When I received the watch the hour hand was a bit slow, which aligns with some of the more negative reviews, however it was an easy fix after tinkering with the crown. Great looks and comfortable to wear."
Review 7 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Use it for going out or at work !!,
April 22, 2014
By: worm
from loudonville, ohio
"Thank you for quality again , Watch is everything I thought it would be ."
Review 8 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep It Simple,
April 1, 2014
By: snookie999
from POUGHKEEPSIE,NY
"Very happy with this purchase. Easy to read date & hands. Band comfortable."
Review 9 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product, good value,
March 27, 2014
By: WillDogg
"This watch is attractive, great size for easy reading, and luminous dial is bright in the dark. Water proof watch and band. Tells 12 hour and 24 hour increments, good for traveling in different time zones."
Review 10 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Guide Field watch Rocks!,
March 8, 2014
By: Blackpirate
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
"Ruggjed, sleek, and accurate. Excellent outdoor watch with comfortable band and sleek look and
feel. I love it.
"
Review 11 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
First Orvis loser for me!,
March 1, 2014
By: Graybeard
from Richmond, VA
"I have more Orvis gear ( fly and clothing) than I can remember over a many-year period. This watch fails 50% of its functions...even the replacement you kindly sent. Wore each for a week. The dual time arrow doesn't work and the date doesn't turnover. I have set / re-set both watches countless times. Really upset because I have been looking for a simple WP,stem, dual time, date watch with an all weather band and still don't have one!!! Even discussed my problem with your repair service who confirmed I was manipulating it correctly. So Sorry....."
Review 12 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
better than expected,
February 28, 2014
By: greygoose27
"My purpose for purchasing this watch was to have a reliable inexpensive timepiece to use for outdoor activities. I was pleased with the appearance of my new purchase. It's utility is proving positive. Very satisfied."
Review 13 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watch,
February 19, 2014
By: FLewisW
from Prince George, VA
"I am very well satisfied with the watch as I am with most every product I order from Orvis. It is consistent with the quality and efficiency of everything I have to come to expect from Orvis products."
Review 14 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
valuable addition to my collection,
January 30, 2014
By: desig
from Ocean, NJ
"just purchased the guide field watch, it is everything and more that the description says. slightly larger face with 6 hr illuminated numbers makes it so convenient and easy to use I don't want to wear my other watches"
Review 15 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great looking watch,
January 30, 2014
By: otter44
from Madison, Wisconsin
"Gave this to my husband for Christmas. He loves it but found the watch band a little big for his taste. Replaced it with a thinner one and is very happy with the watch."
Review 16 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Field Watch,
January 27, 2014
By: Prowlers
from Richland WA
"I don't know if I got a defective watch
but the hour hand would not line up properly with the minute hand when setting the time on the watch.
"
Review 17 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
serviceable watch,
January 26, 2014
By: edifice
from tn
"watch has some characteristics of a military/hunting type with still some style to it-like the rubber watch band alot"
Review 18 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reasonable Product,
December 23, 2013
By: FordFan
from Newport News, VA
"The watch is well-made, light, very easy to read in daylight or darkness, and simple to maintain. The only potential problem is the strap which is comfortable but fragile, and will need to be replaced in not too long."
Review 19 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did not meet expectations,
December 10, 2013
By: FJWJ
from New Braunfels, TX
"Bought the watch in Sep. It stopped running in Nov. Never kept time well during that period. luminescence essentially nonexistent. Strap was stretchy and uncomfortable. Not what I expected from Orvis. Product has been returned."
Review 20 for Guide Field Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far so good,
October 23, 2013
By: Xona
from West Sussex
"I read very bad reviews about this watch but I liked the looks and I still bought it. My husband is delighted with it, that's his weekend watch and being a very active person he wears it all the time, to run, to cycle and finds it fantastic. No problems so far and hopefully we won't have any! It is a very characterful watch."